© 2014 Miss Daphne

Author Study

We have been reading picture books aloud to one another for a few weeks. While we were on March Break, we missed World Read Aloud Day. I love reading picture books and I love hearing you read picture books. There are so many talented authors and illustrators out there. Here is an author study on one of my favourite authors, Peter Reynolds. I have had the incredible fortune of meeting Mr. Reynolds in person. I must say that the more I read about him, the more intrigued I become! Not only do his books inspire creativity, but his life experiences and stories are quite interesting. In this blog entry, I present to you author and illustrator, Peter Reynolds. Please leave thoughtful comments. I would like to read your thoughts about my favourite author. Who is your favorite author? What did he/she write? Why is that person fascinating to you?

Read about how the book “The Dot” flew in space on the International Space Station!
Dot in Space http://stellarcafe.blogspot.ca

Read about Peter Reynolds’ mission.
http://www.peterhreynolds.com/mission2.html

Like a kid in a candy shop…

36 Comments

  1. Hana
    Posted March 10, 2014 at 8:18 pm | #

    My favorite author is Rick Riordan. He writes the Percy Jackson and the Olympians , Heroes of Olympus and the Kane Cronicles. He’s my favorite author because he writes fantasy but since he bases his stories on Greek and Egyptian mythology he adds a bit of the true mythology. I also like him because, unlike other authors he adds loads of humor in his writing!

    • Posted March 11, 2014 at 4:11 am | #

      I am so glad that you got your own series and no longer have to wait for the popular books to be returned to our class library!

  2. Melanie Pomerleau
    Posted March 10, 2014 at 8:19 pm | #

    Peter Reynolds is an outstanding author and illustrater. These videos taught me so much interesting and new information about him. You are so lucky to have had the chance to meet and speak to him. Later I am going to go on his blog to hear more fascinating stories and information. I hope he continues to write and illustrate new stories. My favorite author wrote a series of novels called Harry Potter. Her name is J.K. Rowling.

    • Posted March 11, 2014 at 4:09 am | #

      I am feeling pretty lucky. To top it off, Mr. Reynolds gave me a hug and sat down with me at breakfast. Fascinating man! I can’t wait to read the book that he and Colonnel Chris Hadfield collaborate on!

  3. Nathan Graf
    Posted March 10, 2014 at 8:31 pm | #

    My favourite author is Geronimo Stilton because he writes mouse versions of him self.He writes his adventures in mouse version and he goes on so much adventures even if he says hes more of a book mouse then an adventure mouse even if he goes on more adventures then he reads.

    • Posted March 11, 2014 at 4:07 am | #

      Nathan, doesn’t that inspire you to write a narrative bout yourself from the perspective of an animal? Go ahead! I challenge you. Something short but sweet!

  4. Tyler Pernitsch
    Posted March 10, 2014 at 10:05 pm | #

    My favorite author is Roald Dahl.He is the author of a lot of books like fantastic Mr.for or the magic finger.I like this author a lot because in his books he has so much humor and emotion and is very creative.

    • Posted March 11, 2014 at 4:05 am | #

      Roald Dahl…He’s Miss Lamothe’s favourite author as well!

  5. ashley
    Posted March 11, 2014 at 12:08 am | #

    My favorite author is Sienna Mercer.She is the author of alot of books like my sister is a vampire bite night.I like this author because she writes so well you can almost see the storys in you head and she makes her books with alot of humor.I also like th author Peter Reynold but Sienna Mercer is my favorite.

    • Posted March 11, 2014 at 4:04 am | #

      Okay, I’m sold. Can you lend me a copy of one of her books?

  6. kieran cabana
    Posted March 11, 2014 at 12:30 pm | #

    I do not have a favourite author

  7. kieran cabana
    Posted March 11, 2014 at 7:54 pm | #

    The comment above is not finish and I was not ready to post it!

  8. Madeline
    Posted March 11, 2014 at 11:32 pm | #

    I like lots of different authors but my favourite author would have to be Rachel Renee Russell, she writes Dork diaries books. She is my favourite author because she writes funny books that have lots of drama in them.

  9. selena
    Posted March 11, 2014 at 11:37 pm | #

    My favourite author is Veronica Roth. She has written 3 books named Divergent,Insurgent and Allegiant.I like Veronica Roth because her books are very interesting and her stories seem like it actually happened in real life. I also like Peter Reynold and a lot of other authors but Veronica is my FAVOURITE AUTHOR!

  10. Malik Algaedi
    Posted March 13, 2014 at 12:05 am | #

    I appreciated the video about Peter H. Reynolds and was able to relate to his love for drawing.I enjoyed hearing about his creativity and how he puts himself into his characters.My favorite author at the moment is J.k. Rowling, the author of The Harry Potter series.My sisters suggested that I should read the Philosopher’s Stone and so far it is pretty good!:)

  11. Rohan
    Posted March 13, 2014 at 2:49 pm | #

    I think my new favorite author is Peterh Renolds the first
    time I herd of him was in class, and it turns out I love
    his books! I like his books because he’s very inspirational
    after I herd his book “The dot” I started wanting to draw dots. I got a new marker box so maybe I’ll start. 😀

  12. cameron
    Posted March 13, 2014 at 9:36 pm | #

    I agree with Tyler and Mme Lamothe, Roald dhal is my favorite as well,
    but I like Jeff Kinney.:)

    • cameron
      Posted March 16, 2014 at 11:28 pm | #

      on Saturday, I discovered a another favorite author: Geronimo Stilton.

  13. Jonathon Lalonde
    Posted March 15, 2014 at 2:29 pm | #

    My favorite author for sure is Jeff Kinney. He writes the Diary Of A Wimpy Kid series. Every book that he put out from 1 to 8 I have read in 2 hours per book. I also liked Robert Munsch when i was 4 or 5.

  14. Tomas Brien
    Posted March 15, 2014 at 3:23 pm | #

    Hi Miss Daphne,
    My favorite book is Geronimo Stilton.i love mysteries and this was really a good book. I like the main character because he is the guy who explores all the mysteries.I enjoyed your videos. My favorite was the Dot.

    Thank you
    Tomas

  15. Malakhi Snow
    Posted March 15, 2014 at 6:09 pm | #

    My favorite auther is Robert Munch because his book’s are FUNNY!!!!! your auther is a nise gay for leting you have a pixer wiht him!!

  16. adrianna
    Posted March 15, 2014 at 7:02 pm | #

    The books that he wrote are amazing!

  17. kieran cabana
    Posted March 15, 2014 at 9:56 pm | #

    I like mystery book but there is more than one author who writes those.

  18. Anthony Ruscitti
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 2:39 pm | #

    I really think there is something cool Between The Dot Ish And Sky Colors.First The Girl In Dot Dosen’T know how to draw then she splats a dot on her paper and i became famous while in ish the boy has trouble drawing and in sky colors the boy’s sister whants to make many colors.One Last Thing Never Forget This:One Man’s Garbage Is Another Man’s Treasure 😀

  19. Maggie
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 3:58 pm | #

    My favorite author is R.J palacio because her book wonder was very descriptive and it really plays with your emotions anyway what I’m trying to say is she is a very talented writer

  20. Madison
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 4:57 pm | #

    I don’t have a favourite author,but I like R.J. Palacio.

  21. Madison
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 4:59 pm | #

    It could be that someone has copy written it.

  22. Klara Smid
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 6:55 pm | #

    I think Peter Reynold tries to encourage kids to do things with there lives.To me he is a great inspiration for me.Thank you for teaching me about Peter Reynolds he is amazing and can inspire allot of people.Thank you so much for inspiring me and being a big part of my lift that helped me allot THANK YOU!

  23. André D.
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 8:35 pm | #

    I have tons of favorite authers I’ll name you a few Geronimo Stillton ,Dr Suess,Jeff Kenny and Peter Reynolds story’s are quite interesting too.Thanks miss Daphne for all those great videos they were amazing.

  24. morgan
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 9:23 pm | #

    Peter Reynolds’s books are amazing! He’s a great auther. My favorite auther is Linda Holeman. she writes Raspberry House Blues it’s an fantastic book. she is fascinating to me because she writes books about a little girl who is on a quest to find her birth mother.

  25. william M.
    Posted March 16, 2014 at 11:18 pm | #

    My favorite authors are gerimo stilton and jeff kinney because they both write very good books that make me want to read more of their series. I wanted to pre ordered the first book of Geronimo Stilton space mice, that’s how much I like the reading his books

  26. Dante
    Posted March 17, 2014 at 11:14 pm | #

    My favorite author is Jeff Kinney,He wrote Diary of a wimpy kid,he is fascinating to me because once I started to read the book I couldn’t put it down.This author has a good imagination.

  27. Breanna
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 12:31 am | #

    My favorite author is Daisy Meadows because she writes wonderful books.She has written the hole Rainbow Magic series.I like her books because she has so much excitement in her writing and you never know what is going to happen next…

  28. DYLAN
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 11:47 am | #

    I dont really have a favorite author but I like James Patterson who writes I funny, I even funnier, middle school the worst years of my life and more that I can remember. He is fascinating because his books are funny well written and cool.

  29. Elodie
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 11:15 pm | #

    I don’t have a “favourite“ author but I do like this one and he does inspire me because the words that he uses just make me laugh in my hed and the pictures he does just look amazingly cartoon(ish).

  30. Sharada
    Posted April 1, 2014 at 2:25 pm | #

    Geronimo Stilton is my favourite author because his books are full of adventure. I also like him because he gives information on different countries and things.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Skip to toolbar